New Camera

3 Jun

I bought a new camera recently, a Pentax x90, to be specific. It had just recently been released when I made my purchase, so there weren’t many solid reviews on it, but it seems to be just one step down from the Pentax k-x and I was mainly looking for something a little more powerful than a standard point and shoot but not ridiculously pricey.

The crummy thing is, since I bought it here in Japan, the manual is in Japanese and though I DLed a free PDF in English, I don’t like reading a lot of stuff on a computer screen, it starts to strain my eyes, so I’m slowly learning all the controls by fiddling with the different settings. I’m not a professional photographer by any means, so I think this camera will work well for me. Here’s a review that was actually just posted yesterday.

Something that’s interesting and fun about the camera is that it comes with a bunch of filters and frames that you can add to the image after the fact. The filters look cool and I will probably use those, but I probably won’t touch the frames after I played around with them today to get some samples.

I took a shot of Kobe Port Tower from across the water at Harborland while I was out with friends last week. The weather was gorgeous, by the way. Click the images to see the larger size.

The original shot

Color Filter

Toy Camera Filter

Old Camera Filter

Black and White

Color Filter: Blue

Sepia Filter (eew, btw)

Soft Filter

Heart Frame

Pin Board Frame

Memo Frame

Heart Frame 2

As you can tell, the frames are really corny and lame, but the filters are more interesting. I like the toy camera one best, now I don’t have to go out and actually BUY one. πŸ™‚

One Response to “New Camera”

  1. Analog Soul Photography May 24, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    Thank you very much for posting sample images from the x90’s onboard filters. I just got an x90 myself and wasn’t able to find much information on how the filters look until I found your posting. I love the toy camera version also…looks like a 1960s mid century modern post card πŸ˜‰ I use real toy cameras myself, so it will be fun to play with this filter effect on my digital shots.

Leave a Reply

